#NewRelease Tortured by Nicole Williams #AllTheFeels #SecondChance #MustRead

Our Review:

Tortured lived up to its name! I felt tortured with heartache right from the start of the book. On the surface it began as a sweet story of first love being tested by time and distance. Brecken goes off to war leaving Camryn worrying about his safety, while he worries about leaving her with no one to protect her from an alcoholic and abusive parent.

“Worry as I unloaded the groceries. Relief as I started the laundry. Anxiety as I ironed shirts. Excitement as I checked the mail. Hopefulness as I started dinner. Hopelessness as I set the table. Emotions were a strange thing. How they could propel you forward one moment, only to bury you in an unmarked grave the next.”

When the worst happens, Camryn is forced to find her own way to get by and continue on with what she has left of her life. To me, she proves her strength in every move and choice she makes and she is faced with lots of very difficult choices at such a young age.

“Our scars prove we’re strong. They testify to what we can endure. It’s not weakness carved into them—it’s strength.”

Both Brecken and Camryn are kept prisoner in a way and to deal with this they keep their own secrets. It’s only when they are able to shine light on their own chains and scar that they can move towards any freedom.

“I’m a man. Staring at a woman I’ve loved, trying not to break down in front of her broken body.” His voice broke, matching the look on his face. “Trying to be strong when I’ve never in my life felt weaker. Trying to look like I can handle seeing her like this when I can’t f*ing handle seeing her like this.”

I absolutely loved this beautiful and beautifully written heartbreaking and honest story. There are definitely some tough to read parts but handled so honestly. I fall more and more in love with this author with every book of hers that I pick up. I look forward to discovering more of her books and handing my heart over to her to destroy (and hopefully heal again). I’ve just added this author to my ‘must-buy’, ‘one-click’, ‘don’t-even-read-the-blurb’ list!

“You know where you’re going?”
His head nodded beside mine. “I’ve always known.”
My hands went behind his neck. His skin was warm and familiar. “And where’s that?” He exhaled against my skin as he closed the bedroom door. “Toward you.”
-Diane-

SYNOPSIS:

When he left for a twelve-month deployment, she knew it would feel like forever before they saw each other again. She didn’t realize how right she was.

When Lance Corporal Brecken Connolly gets taken as a POW, Camryn hopes for the best but steels herself for the worst. In the end, steel was what she needed to survive when he didn’t. She moves on the only way she knows how—gilding herself in more steel.

Years go by.
She builds a new life.
She leaves the old one behind.

Until one day, she sees the face of a ghost on the news. Brecken seems to have risen from the dead, but she knows she can’t perform the same miracle for herself. While Brecken was held in a torture camp for the past five years, she’s been trapped in her own kind of prison. One she can’t be saved from.

The man she mourned comes back to join the living, but the girl he wanted to spend his life with isn’t the same woman he comes back for. Brecken isn’t the same person either. The past five years have changed them both. While he’s determined to put the pieces back together, she’s resolved to let hers rot where they shattered.

Broken or not, Brecken wants her back. He’ll do anything to achieve that. Even if it means going against the warden of Camryn’s personal prison—her husband.

IMG_1796

About the Author:
I’m a wife, a mom, a writer. I started writing because I loved it and I’m still writing because I love it. I write romance because I still believe in true love, kindred spirits, and happy endings.

Nicole loves hearing from her readers. You can connect with her on:

Facebook: Author Nicole Williams
Instagram: author_nicole_williams
Twitter: nwilliamsbooks

 

IMG_1792

Leave a Reply

